The New Old Me: My Late-Life Reinvention (Large Print / Hardcover)

The New Old Me: My Late-Life Reinvention Cover Image
$32.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


For readers of Anne Lamott, Abigail Thomas, and Ayelet Waldman, a lusty, kickass* post-divorce memoir, one woman's story of starting over at 60 in youth-obsessed, beauty-obsessed Hollywood.

After the death of her best friend, the loss of her life's savings, andthe collapse of her once-happy marriage, Meredith Maran whom Anne Lamott calls insightful, funny, and human leaves herSan Franciscofreelance writer's life for a 9-to-5 job in Los Angeles. Determined to rebuild not only her savings but herself while relishing the joys of life inLa-La land, Maran writes a poignant story, a funny story, a moving story, and above all an American story of what it means to be a woman of a certain age in our time (Christina Baker Kline, number-oneNew York Times bestselling author ofOrphan Train).
ADVANCE PRAISE for THE NEW OLD ME:
High time we had a book that celebrates becoming an elder Meredith Maran writes of the difficulties of loss and change and aging, but makes it clear that getting on can be more interesting, more fun, and a lot more exciting than youth.
Abigail Thomas, author of theNew York TimesbestsellerWhat Comes Next and How to Like It
The New Old Meis a book I don t just want to read I need to read it. So does everyone else who's getting older and wants to live fully, with immediacy and enjoyment, which is to say, everyone.
Anne Lamott, author of theNew York TimesbestsellersBird by BirdandSome Assembly Required
Meredith Maran is my new role model for getting older without getting old.
Kate Christensen, author of the PEN/Faulkner award winnerThe Great Man*

About the Author


Like a lot of women her age, MEREDITH MARANhas a hard time believing she s a woman of her age. And yet she s published more than a dozen books, includingThe New Old Me, Why We Write About Ourselves, Why We Write, MyLie, andA Theory of Small Earthquakes. When she s not hiking Mount Hollywood, attending readings at indie bookstores, or scouring Los Angeles finest thrift shops, she's writing for venues includingThe New York Times, The Washington Post, The Christian Science Monitor, The Los Angeles Review of Books, The Rumpus, andSalon. The grateful recipient of fellowships from MacDowell and Yaddo and a member of the National Book Critics Circle, Meredith lives in a Silver Lake bungalow that s even older than she is."
Product Details
ISBN: 9781410499547
ISBN-10: 1410499545
Large Print: Yes
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Publication Date: May 3rd, 2017
Language: English

Upcoming Events