Piper (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Piper Cover Image
$17.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


Gorgeous art! A new twist on the classic story. The Piper has a love interest, but things don't go well...atmospheric and sad...I was fully immersed in this story.

— Donna

Description


#1 international bestselling author of Thirteen Reasons Why Jay Asher and co-author Jessica Freeburg brilliantly reimagine the classic Pied Piper legend as a powerful graphic novel about loneliness, love, and vengeance. Fans of Neil Gaiman and Through the Woods by Emily Carroll will devour this eerie, atmospheric retelling.

“A moving graphic novel about isolation, love, and retribution, this dark version of a familiar tale will remain with readers long after the last page is turned.”—School Library Journal
 
Long ago, in a small village in the middle of a deep, dark forest, there lived a lonely, deaf girl named Maggie. Shunned by her village because of her disability, her only comfort comes from her vivid imagination. Maggie has a gift for inventing stories and dreams of one day finding her fairy-tale love.
 
When Maggie meets the mysterious Piper, it seems that all her wishes are coming true. Spellbound, Maggie falls hard for him and plunges headfirst into his magical world. But as she grows closer to the Piper, Maggie discovers that he has a dark side.
 
The boy of Maggie’s dreams might just turn out to be her worst nightmare…
 
With striking illustrations from Eisner-nominated artist Jeff Stokely, mixed with Jessica Freeburg's work on historic and legendary horrors, Piper is an exciting new departure for Jay Asher that deftly touches on the same themes of truth, guilt, and redemption that made Thirteen Reasons Why a beloved bestseller.

About the Author


JAY ASHER's debut novel, Thirteen Reasons Why, a #1 New York Times and international bestseller, has sold over 3 million copies in the United States alone and is now a thirteen-part series on Netflix. The Future of Us, his second novel, was co-authored with Printz Honor winner Carolyn Mackler. He is also the author of the New York Times bestselling What Light. Piper, out in Fall 2017 and co-authored with Jessica Freeburg and illustrated by Jeff Stokely, will mark Asher’s graphic novel debut. His novels have been translated into thirty-seven languages. He lives with his family in California. Follow him on Twitter @jayasherguy.

JESSICA FREEBURG is the author of paranormal fiction (Living in Shadows) and narrative nonfiction works focused on creepy legends and dark moments in history including Monsters of the Midwest, Fight for Survival, and Collapse and Chaos. To blend her love of writing with her passion for history and the paranormal, Jessica founded Ghost Stories Ink, a group of authors, illustrators, and filmmakers who visit historic locations and perform paranormal investigations for creative inspiration. She also serves as the assistant regional advisor for the Minnesota Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators. Follow her @JessicaFreeburg.

JEFF STOKELY is the co-creator and artist of Eisner-nominated comic series THE SPIRE. He is the artist of acclaimed series SIX-GUN GORILLA and JIM HENSON'S THE STORYTELLER: WITCHES, THE REASON FOR DRAGONS. Follow him @JeffStokely.

Praise For…


Gorgeously illustrated and lyrically paced, PIPER had me under its spell from the first page. A riveting and, at times, chilling response to one of the most fascinating legends that history and fairy tales have given us. 
—Marissa Meyer, #1 New York Times-bestselling author of The Lunar Chronicles and Renegades
 
Jay Asher and Jessica Freeburg have conjured real magic with PIPER! Mysterious and weird, scary and yet charming, they’ve managed to take an old story and craft it into something beautiful and new! Highly recommended.
—Jonathan Maberry, New York Times bestselling author of Rot & Ruin and Black Panther: Doomwar

With an unfailingly honest touch, Piper unlocks the mystery and finds the heart of one of our most haunting legends. Asher, Freeburg, and Stokely find the emotional True North and leave their audience, including me, reaching for our Kleenex. Loved!
—Danielle Paige, New York Times bestselling author of the Dorothy Must Die and Stealing Snow series 
Product Details
ISBN: 9780448493664
ISBN-10: 0448493667
Publisher: Razorbill
Publication Date: October 31st, 2017
Pages: 144
Language: English