Suburban Hell (Paperback)

Suburban Hell By Maureen Kilmer Cover Image
$17.00
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


A Chicago cul-de-sac is about to get a new neighbor...of the demonic kind.

    Amy Foster considers herself lucky. After she left the city and moved to the suburbs, she found her place quickly with neighbors Liz, Jess, and Melissa, snarking together from the outskirts of the PTA crowd. One night during their monthly wine get-together, the crew concoct a plan for a clubhouse She Shed in Liz’s backyard—a space for just them, no spouses or kids allowed.
 
    But the night after they christen the She Shed, things start to feel . . . off. They didn’t expect Liz’s little home-improvement project to release a demonic force that turns their quiet enclave into something out of a nightmare. And that’s before the homeowners’ association gets wind of it.
 
    Even the calmest moms can’t justify the strange burn marks, self-moving dolls, and horrible smells surrounding their possessed friend, Liz. Together, Amy, Jess, and Melissa must fight the evil spirit to save Liz and the neighborhood . . . before the suburbs go completely to hell.
 

About the Author


Maureen Kilmer graduated from Miami University in Oxford, Ohio, and lives in the Chicago suburbs with her husband and three children. She does not have a She Shed, and thankfully has not had to battle the forces of darkness (unless going to Costco on a Saturday counts). Suburban Hell is her horror debut.
 

Praise For…


One of Bustle's Most Anticipated Books of August 2022
One of Buzzfeed's Summer Thriller Recommendations

One of NY Post's Best New Books This Week
One of Buzzfeed's New Books You Won't Be Able To Put Down

"A cheerfully campy take on the usual concerns—conformity, boredom, demonic possession." Chicago Tribune

"This delightful fiction debut is the hell-arious Desperate Housewives-esque novel that dreams are made of." —Buzzfeed

"A delightful, fun, spooky, scary story. At it’s core it’s about friendship and the bonds of love for these four women. Maureen has hit a home-run with her first novel." Red Carpet Crash

"This novel about the horrors of suburbia—both supernatural and terrestrial in origin—has plenty of genuinely funny moments. . . . A good fit for fans of Grady Hendrix's My Best Friend's Exorcism, Rachel Harrison's The Return, or Junji Ito's horror manga Uzumaki." —Booklist

"Maureen Kilmer strikes the perfect balance in Suburban Hell. This is a scary, thrilling, and funny ride through a neighborhood nightmare. The pages turn themselves, you can’t stop reading this one." —Samantha Downing, author of For Your Own Good

"A savvy, wildly relatable horror-comedy about suburban angst and the bonds of friendship, that serves chilling scares and genuine laughs. Massively entertaining and fun as hell!" —Rachel Harrison, author of Such Sharp Teeth
Product Details
ISBN: 9780593422373
ISBN-10: 0593422376
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons
Publication Date: August 30th, 2022
Pages: 336
Language: English