Flower and Thorn: A Novel (Hardcover)

Flower and Thorn: A Novel By Rati Mehrotra Cover Image
$21.00
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


A young flower hunter gets embroiled in the succession politics of the Sultanate when she must retrieve the rarest and most powerful magical flower after giving it to the wrong hands, in Rati Mehrotra's Flower and Thorn.

Irinya has wanted to be a flower hunter ever since her mother disappeared into the mysterious mist of the Rann salt flats one night. Now seventeen, Irinya uses her knowledge of magical flowers to help her caravan survive in the harsh desert. When her handsome hunting partner and childhood friend finds a priceless silver spider lily—said to be able to tear down kingdoms and defeat entire armies—Irinya knows this is their chance for a better life.

Until Irinya is tricked by an attractive impostor.

Irinya's fight to recover the priceless flower and fix what she's done takes her on a dangerous journey, one she's not sure she'll survive. She has no choice but to endure it if she hopes to return home and mend the broken heart of the boy she's left behind.

About the Author


Born and raised in India, Rati Mehrotra now lives and writes in Toronto, Canada. She is the author of the YA fantasy novel Night of the Raven, Dawn of the Dove and the science fantasy novels Markswoman and Mahimata. Her stories have been shortlisted for The Sunburst Award, nominated for The Aurora Award, and appeared in multiple venues including The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction, Lightspeed Magazine, Uncanny Magazine, and Apex Magazine. She loves to cook; when not writing, she is often to be found in the kitchen, experimenting with new recipes.

Praise For…


"Irinya’s perilous journey is studded with unpredictable characters and heartbreaks, sparingly honeyed by fortitude and a slow-burning romance. An excellent recommendation for fans of Hafsah Faizal's We Hunt the Flame." - Booklist, starred review

"Mehrotra reimagines India’s history using beautiful, detailed worldbuilding and well-developed characters. [...] A well-realized fantasy world full of both beauty and danger." - Kirkus on Flower and Thorn

"A lush fantasy adventure [and a] fascinating reimagining of events that ruminates on themes of colonialism, environmentalism, greed, and power dynamics." - Publishers Weekly on Flower and Thorn

"Night of the Raven, Dawn of the Dove is ambitious and filled with grisly battles, sinister monsters and forbidden magic. The novel's brisk pacing and escalating stakes create a gripping read, while Katyani's journey of self-discovery adds a universal coming-of-age element to the epic narrative. Fans of Sabaa Tahir's An Ember in the Ashes and Kristin Cashore's Graceling should enjoy this high fantasy adventure." - Shelf Awareness, starred review

"
In her YA debut, Rati Mehrotra deftly weaves medieval India into a compelling high-fantasy world brimming with cunning spirits and blood-soaked betrayal. [...] Night of the Raven, Dawn of the Dove thrives on the fact that true monsters might not have fangs or claws but bear the faces of friends instead." - Quill and Quire, starred review

"Engaging storytelling and characters mix with intense, high-stakes political games in this imaginative portrait of high society in a medieval India beset by monsters. [...] Readers will root for this strong-willed, energetic heroine through the action-packed ending." - Booklist on Night of the Raven, Dawn of the Dove

"Mehrotra smoothly incorporates worldbuilding into the atmospheric narrative, highlighting themes of family and justice with a timeless blend of adventure, mystery, and romance. A satisfying stand-alone with classic appeal." - Kirkus on Night of the Raven, Dawn of the Dove:

"[A] fluidly plotted, medieval India–set fantasy. [...] Katyani’s bold, vivacious personality and a swoony enemies-to-lovers romance imbue this tense, action-packed narrative with wry humor." - Publishers Weekly on Night of the Raven, Dawn of the Dove

"Mehrotra has created a lush, atmospheric story with interesting worldbuilding and stakes." - School Library Journal on Night of the Raven, Dawn of the Dove

"A satisfying, thoughtfully plotted...sprawling fantasy set in a world inspired by medieval India and effortlessly balances themes of justice alongside genuinely thrilling adventure." - Paste Magazine on Night of the Raven, Dawn of the Dove

“Sensuous and action-packed…the world-building is masterfully presented. [A] fascinating story of secrets, betrayal, and the devastating cycle of revenge.” – Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books on Night of the Raven, Dawn of the Dove

“A dazzling and intricately woven story that bites as fiercely as it dazzles. From its complex cast to its decadent world building, I couldn’t put this book down.” - Adalyn Grace, New York Times bestselling author of All the Stars and Teeth

"A sweeping adventure set in a lush world, full of political intrigue and relationships found and lost. I loved it!" - Lauren Blackwood, New York Times bestselling author of Within These Wicked Walls

"Night of the Raven, Dawn of the Dove is the high fantasy novel I’ve been hungering for. An exciting, richly drawn world grounded in ancient Indian lore and tradition? Multifaceted monsters both human and otherwise? A sword-wielding heroine who must discard everyone else’s stories in order to find her own? Um, yes, please! Read this book." —Shveta Thakrar, author of the Andre Norton Nebula Award finalist Star Daughter

"Vividly imagined, lushly written, and bursting with memorable characters led by the stellar Katyani, Night of the Raven, Dawn of the Dove is an essential addition to the India-inspired fantasy library." - Samit Basu, writer of the Netflix film House Arrest and author of The City Inside

"Night of the Raven, Dawn of the Dove is a captivating, richly drawn fantasy story, full of twists and turns. It gripped me from the opening pages and never let go with a fantastic mix of palace intrigue, unique magic, action, and romance. It's everything I'm looking for in a fantasy novel." - L. Penelope, author of Song of Blood & Stone

“Rati Mehrotra’s Night of the Raven, Dawn of the Dove pulls you into an enthralling and perilous world on page one and doesn’t let you go until the very end. Captained by an unapologetically fierce heroine and sharp, page-turning dialogue, this tale about faith in one’s family and oneself is a must-read.” - Kylie Lee Baker, author of The Keeper of Night

Product Details
ISBN: 9781250823700
ISBN-10: 1250823706
Publisher: Wednesday Books
Publication Date: October 17th, 2023
Pages: 352
Language: English